Wednesday, 31 August 2016

Bad Breeding - Burn This Flag

  Nick Sayers Photography

  Bad Breeding are from Stevenage, Hertfordshire, got together at the end of 2013 and feature Chris Dodd (vocals), Charlie Rose (bass), Matt Toll (guitar) and Ashlea Bennett (drums).

  Pay a visit to their website ( ) and you'll be confronted by a montage of various images and sounds, click the small audio tab at the top and you'll receive a free download of their excellent self titled album. It's loud, it's chaotic, it's unapologetically in your face and it's one of the best albums of 2016.

  They'll soon be touring the UK so watch out for them (dates here :, if the album is anything to go by, the live shows will be a riot.

  "A simple four-chord nod to old anarcho songs" this is Burn This Flag.....

if it tastes like ash it's probably your future
i hate to say i told you so
found it hard to define
what was written in your mind
swishing blades around your mouth
just to make you feel alive

if it tastes like ash it's probably your future
i hate to say i told you so
long grown sick of killing time
red-stained morals colour bleak through lines

burn this flag

if it tastes like ash it's probably your future
i hate to say i told you so
numb from the pressure
brought by the strain
a heavy crown weighs on a desolate age

Tuesday, 30 August 2016

Brutal Youth - The King

  Forming in 2010 in St Johns, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canadian hardcore juggernauts Brutal Youth are now based in Toronto and boast a sound that's been described as "manic, 120 second punk rock anthems peppered with sucker-punch hooks that'll leave you toothless before you even know what hit you."

  The band previously featured here with a song from their 2013 Stay Honest album ( Now they're preparing to unleash their blistering new long player, Sanguine, and having been lucky enough to receive a preview d/l of the album I'm advising you all to seriously consider snapping it up when it drops. It's 14 tracks of catchy hardcore tuneage that'll please the fans and no doubt attract the attention of anyone else who's idea of a good time is bouncing around sweatily down the front of a packed out venue. It's due out on Sept 23rd on Stomp Records so watch out for it.

  They posted links to a song from the album on their Facebook page ( but for some reason when I tried to view the song on Youtube all I got was a This Video Is Unavailable message. Worry not if you're in the same boat, I stuck it on my channel so I can share it with you today.

 This is The King........

Monday, 29 August 2016

Maid Of Ace - Made In England

  It's almost exactly 2 years since the 4 Elliott sisters from Hastings who comprise Maid Of Ace first appeared in this blog ( Now Amy Catherine, Alison Cara, Abby and Anna Coral return with a song from their second album, Maid In England.

  Earning them favourable comparisons with the likes of The Distillers, L7, Hole and pretty much any other decent hard hitting band featuring strong, guttural female vocals, the album (which the band released themselves) has been racking up some pretty impressive reviews. They've also been going down a storm on their current European tour.

  Top notch punk from the streets, this is Made In England......

Sunday, 28 August 2016

Mike Spent Black Belt - I Am A Lion


  I assume you've all heard of San Diego punk legends The Spent Idols? If you have then skip to the next paragraph, anyone else I'd recommend you check out Angelo Ruggiero's awesome Rawk Un Roll Blog which is crammed with articles, reviews etc and will fill you in on the band :

  Today's update features the debut single by Mike Spent Black Belt. Mike, has been the driving force behind Spent Idol/Spent Idols for well over 3 decades (he also featured in several other bands such as New York Whores, G.I. Bleeds, Mike Spent Hour, Mystery Girls, Last Years Heros and The Spents). He shared his favourite songs with this blog a while back :

  Last year saw The Spent Idols return after a 18 year hiatus with the excellent Land Of The Lost double cd (there's a taster of that release here : Recently the single, which I'm featuring on here today, surfaced. Mike Spent Black Belt is the name of the latest project and they're more mature and considered than the snotty, raw punk n roll sound of The Spent Idols but as you'll hopefully agree every bit as catchy and wonderful. You can pick up the single here :

  This is I Am A Lion........

Saturday, 27 August 2016

The Fleas - Heart Breaker

  I'm sure we all have those moments when you're browsing for new music, randomly clicking links, listening to music more in hope than expectation, and then BOOM! You come across something that slaps you round the face and sends a shiver down your spine. Today's update features one of those kinda songs.

  The Fleas are a relatively new band (they formed in the Spring of 2015), they're from Brighton and Hove and after a line up change earlier this year comprise of Emily Condon, Karlos Collins and Hugo Beynon. They announced themselves with a name your price demo and followed it up with the 7 track Live At The Windmill release. You can snap up both of them here :

  Good as those were, they've come on in leaps and bounds if their debut "proper" single is anything to go by. This is going to end up being one of 2016's best eps so make sure you check it out :

  She's an evil bitch with an appetite for despair who'll tear people apart just because she can, and what's more she doesn't give a shit. This is Heart Breaker. Be prepared to be mightily impressed......

Friday, 26 August 2016

Good Good Grief - Faster n Harder than Death

    Good Good Grief are from Wilmington, North Carolina, they've been together since 2015 (their debut show was on July 18th at Reggie's 42nd Street Tavern) and they line up Nick Chikago (lead vocals), Kyle Watts (guitar/vocals), Jared Boyd (drums) and new bassist Skyler Randolph who recently replaced Aaron Hanes.

  They're influenced not only by the likes of Black Sabbath and Slayer but also by the horror imagery conjured up by masters of the macabre such as Stephen King, George Romero, John Carpenter, David Lynch etc.

  Their debut album, Sounds Like A Nightmare, will be released soon, as a taster here's a song that describes their sound pretty aptly, Faster n Harder Than Death.......

Thursday, 25 August 2016

NOi!SE - Dull The Pain


  Noi!se previously appeared on this blog a couple of years ago ( and more recently a couple of members of the band featured with acoustic side project Stadium Way (

  Happily they're back with a song from the new double A sided single which is out on 2nd September on Pirates Press Records and Randale Records. As well as a single, there's also a new album, The Real Enemy, which will be along this Autumn.

  I don't think it's an exaggeration to say that they're are one of the shining lights of the current oi/street punk resurgence, if the single is anything to go by, the album is going to be a classic. This is Dull The Pain.......